Jim Gatchell Memorial Museum's Buffalo Historic Main Street Walking Tour



View Map

Crazy Woman Square, 1 South Main Street Distance 0.00 miles

Crazy Woman Square was the site of two 1900 and 1910 two-story buildings until destroyed by an arsonist in the summer of 1988. The Ben Franklin Store (a variety store), Central Garage, Ford Garage, and the Sanborn Livery and Garage (1903 – 1927), were all located here at one time.

View Location
Presented By:
Jim Gatchell Museum

Hitching Post Gallery, 51 South Main Street Distance 0.00 miles

The home of the Hitching Post Gallery since 1993, it was the location of Walker’s Country Magic from 1988 – 1993, Kraft Jewelers from 1980 – 1988, Purcell’s Jewelry Store from 1977 – 1980, City Electric in 1970, Bud’s Barber Shop in 1944, a grocery store from 1933 – 1944, and a local butcher shop from 1897 – 1933. This building dates to 1930.

View Location
Presented By:
Jim Gatchell Museum

GiGi's Upscale Resale, 57 South Main Street Distance 0.00 miles

The site of Van Dyke’s Men’s Clothing Store, this one-story building was constructed in 1935 and later housed several businesses including Bud Meade’s Barber Shop, a grocery store, Coast-to-Coast, and the original location of The Breadboard.

View Location
Presented By:
Jim Gatchell Museum

ANB Bank, 99 South Main Street Distance 0.00 miles

This is the location of ANB Bank, previously called the Wyoming Bank and Trust. Before the bank expanded and absorbed the building that housed a café and Purcell’s Jewelry (1929 – 1977), it was the site of the Coast-to-Coast and Safeway Grocery Store. Knepper’s Battery Service and Electric Supply was located here from 1919 – 1923 before the business moved across the street. This current building dates to 1977.

View Location
Presented By:
Jim Gatchell Museum

First Northern Bank of Wyoming, 141 South Main Street Distance 0.00 miles

The First Northern Bank of Wyoming, originally called the Stebbins Conrad Bank and more recently the First National Bank of Wyoming, was established in 1884 at its current location. After operating in a few other locations, it returned to its original site in 1941. Previously this was the location of the Buffalo Creamery, Henry’s Variety Store, Wilkerson Saddle Shop, and American Legion. In 1879 this became the second location of the Trabing Brothers’ Store, the first store in Johnson County... Read more...

View Location
Presented By:
Jim Gatchell Museum

First Northern Bank of Wyoming Parking Lot Distance 0.00 miles

A 1952 one-story building occupied this location where Standard Station and earlier Holt’s Drug Store, the first drug store in Buffalo, were located. This was the site of McLeod’s Cowboy Saloon and the beginning of Buffalo’s Red Light District. The wide alley behind Main Street, (Bob Hancock Drive), provided each saloon with a rear entrance for the convenience of the “ladies of the evening.”

View Location
Presented By:
Jim Gatchell Museum

Papa Bino's, 100 & 98 South Main Street Distance 0.00 miles

Currently housing Papa Bino’s, it was the previous home of Northern Wyoming Insurance, originally Safeco, for 30 years. Earlier it contained Mountain States Power Company, Pacific Power Lights, the Senate Saloon, John Erhart’s Fruit and Candy Store, the Darling Grocery Store, a post office in the 1920s, and the Johnson County Bank from 1912 – 1920. Charles Baker built this building in 1910.

View Location
Presented By:
Jim Gatchell Museum

Up in Smoke, 94 & 90 South Main Street Distance 0.00 miles

This was the first home of Buffalo Federal Savings and Loan and the KBBS Radio Station. It was the location of Knebel’s doctor office from 1934 – 1957, as well as Burt Grigg’s Law Office from 1921 – 1958. Previously it was Charles Burger’s jewelry store from 1904 – 1934. Built by F. A. Shaver in 1892 and known as the Shaver Block, it first housed Shaver’s jewelry store and Helen Walker’s millinery store.

View Location
Presented By:
Jim Gatchell Museum

CloudPeak.Net, Art Works Too, 86 South Main Street Distance 0.00 miles

This two-story building with a white metal façade covered in pressed floral designs is an example of how popular it was to buy pre-manufactured building façades to dress up the store front. This was home to Hill and Grigg’s Law Office and the Buffalo Furniture Mart. It housed the Buffalo Echo, Buffalo’s first newspaper in 1883, before it was renamed the Buffalo Bulletin in 1906.

View Location
Presented By:
Jim Gatchell Museum

Treasure Chest Antiques and Collectibles, 76 South Main Street Distance 0.00 miles

Previously housing the Practically Magic Store and Amish Furnishings, this one-story building was Jim Gatchell’s Pharmacy from 1904 – 1987. Gatchell’s collection of historical artifacts became the basis for the Johnson County Jim Gatchell Memorial Museum.

View Location
Presented By:
Jim Gatchell Museum

Sports Lure Too, Sports Lure, Capital Hotel Vacation Suites, 70 & 66 S Main Distance 0.00 miles

From the picture you can see that the Sports Lure and Sports Lure Too occupy what were originally two buildings known as the Zindel and Oliver Blocks. The Zindel Block was built in 1894 as a two-story, flat roof building and the Oliver Block was built in 1901. From 1901 – 1987 the New York Store was located on the Oliver Block. The Adams and Young Grocery Store, considered one of the best-stocked stores in Wyoming, was located in the Zindel Block beginning in 1898. The Capitol Hotel and Restau... Read more...

View Location
Presented By:
Jim Gatchell Museum

Johnson County Realty, 42 South Main Street Distance 0.00 miles

Before Simply Second Hand and Annie’s Antiques, this was the location of a floral shop, a bakery, a J.C. Penny Store from 1938 – 1973, Budweiser Bar from 1930 – 1938 with the Telephone Exchange on the second floor, and a post office and stationery store from 1918 – 1926. Built in 1909 as the Brehl Building, this location has been occupied since 1887.

View Location
Presented By:
Jim Gatchell Museum

Limelight Dance Factory, In Color Gallery & Design, 38 South Main Street Distance 0.00 miles

From 1910 – 2007 Seney’s Drug Store was in this building after previously occupying two other sites on Main Street. Originally the Holt Drug Store, it became Seney’s after it was purchased in 1910. This building was built in 1922 and remodeled in 1961.

View Location
Presented By:
Jim Gatchell Museum

Cooley Images, 28 South Main Street Distance 0.00 miles

The current building, built in 1903 for the Buffalo Hardware Store, later housed the Ellis Hardware Store and the Cloud Peak Mercantile. In 1891 this was the location of the Munkres and Mathers General Merchandise Store.

View Location
Presented By:
Jim Gatchell Museum

American Outback Antiques, 22 South Main Street Distance 0.00 miles

Before the antiques store, this location was home to the Red Owl Food Store, Gamble’s Store, and Buffalo’s first library while the second floor was used as an opera house. In the early 1900s it was the Kube and Kennedy Clothing Store. The building dates to 1887 when it was built for the Hasbrouck Haberdashery business, the first exclusively dry goods store in the northern section of Wyoming Territory.

View Location
Presented By:
Jim Gatchell Museum

Our Partners